Skip to content

threatened tribalism

One of Glenn Greenwald’s commenters gets to the bottom of it:

Don’t be fooled into thinking that this applies only to African-Americans. The sense of threatened tribalism is at the root of movement conservatism, and always has been.
[...]
Take almost any one of their “thoughtful” screeds about Islam and do a global search/replace from “Islam” to “niggers” and the text becomes instantly recognizable. This racist energy had for a long time been at least partly directed towards “the Communists” but now that it isn’t it is pretty much clear that Islam is now the designated nigger.
[From One of Instapundit's favorite blogs speaks on race - Glenn Greenwald - Salon.com]

Movement conservatism has always needed an Other to focus it’s adherents’ minds on. Communists, liberals, muslims, it’s always changing. “Standing athwart history and shouting stop” is about right: never thinking, never examining, only standing in the flow and hoping to turn it back.

5 Comments

  1. John M wrote:

    Any feedback from networkforgood or networkforgoods?

    Friday, September 21, 2007 at 3:27 PM | Permalink
  2. paul wrote:

    surprisingly, no. but I suppose a look at the bogus DONATE page might tell me if networkforgood.org has secured their site.

    [update] Looks like the pages are gone from the site that was hosting this junk. No word on what conversations might have played into that. But good news, in any event.

    Friday, September 21, 2007 at 3:30 PM | Permalink
  3. John M wrote:

    Well done, sir.

    Saturday, September 22, 2007 at 12:10 PM | Permalink
  4. Michael Ben-Nes wrote:

    Currently the domain is parked. Meaning, the owner hope mislead visitors will click on one of the advertisements.

    Each click will earn them an average of 2 cents.

    I assume the domain is for sale, but I wouldn’t recommend on buying it. It will only encourage that kind of behavior.

    [you're right, of course, and I looked to see how thorough the scammers were. I should have mentioned that. but it seemed unlikely anyone would go to the home page of the made-up site, instead just clicking through to the bogus page. But good catch.]

    Saturday, September 22, 2007 at 11:12 PM | Permalink
  5. Thank you for highlighting this situation on your blog, it is an important one. We share your distress at this situation and were in touch with Mickey at MicMac Records right after the link went up. We learned from them that their site had been hacked a few days ago. We made sure that their webmaster deleted these files from their server and, as you noted, the links were taken down. We are constantly monitoring our site to safeguard for anything like this and again we appreciate you notifying your readers. — Katya Andresen, VP, Network for Good If anyone as any concerns, please feel free to email me at Katya.Andresen(at)networkforgood.org

    Monday, September 24, 2007 at 5:56 AM | Permalink

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *
*
*